Licensure

Florida Licensing Requirements for Real Estate

  • Real Estate Sales Associate

    To become a real estate agent, you must successfully complete a 63-hour course approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission; submit the appropriate application with fee; have electronic fingerprints taken through Promisor, and successfully complete the state examination. Your license is valid for two years.

  • Real Estate Broker 

    To become a real estate broker, you must successfully complete a 72-hour course approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission, submit the appropriate application with fee, have electronic fingerprints taken through Promisor; and successfully complete the state examination. 

Apply for a License 

License Renewal

  • Initial Renewal

    After receiving your license, your initial renewal requires you to complete the following post license education: 

    • Sales Associates: 45 hours 
    • Brokers License Renewal: 60 hours 

  • After Initial Renewal 

    Following your initial renewal, you'll be required to renew your real estate license every two years, based on the issue date of the initial license. A total of 14 hours of continuing education is required, composed of the following courses:

    • 3 hours of Core Law

    • 3 hours of Ethics & Business Ethics (ORRA’s Code of Ethics)

    • 8 hours of Specialty Credit

Renew & Manage Your License

Ways to Meet Your Requirements

  • Take a course at ORRA
    ORRA has a variety of in-person and online programs designed to help you meet your 14-hour, 45-hour and 60-hour post licensing education requirements. 

  • Attend a Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) meeting
    You can earn three (3) continuing education specialty credit per renewal cycle for attending one of the live Disciplinary Case Sessions. Advanced registration is required.

 


Questions? Please contact the Professional Development Department at education@orlandorealtors.org  or 407.513.7268

Events