Fair Housing
Share |

Federal fair housing law consists of the Civil Rights Act of 1866 and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, otherwise known as the Fair Housing Act. The act, as amended in 1988, provides that no one can be discriminated against in the sale, rental, or financing of residential dwellings on the bases of these protected classes: race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, and national origin.

In addition, the Civil Rights Act of 1866 provides that all U.S. citizens have the same rights as white citizens to "inherit, purchase, sell, hold, and convey real and personal property.” The U.S. Supreme Count has interpreted this act to prohibit all forms of racial discrimination with regard to real estate – even discrimination by private individuals. Penalties can include punitive as well as actual damages.


Fair Housing Resources

Fair Housing Tips
Tips for brokerages, associates, support staff, and even clients.

NAR Field Guide to Fair Housing
Resources, links, case law and more.

NAR Diversity and Fair Housing Program
Materials and activities you can do to recognize Fair Housing Month.


Fair Housing Links

Fair Housing/Equal Opportunity (HUD)

Fair Housing in Florida (HUD)

Fair Housing Laws (HUD)


ORRA Partners
ORRA would like to thank our Partners for their continuing support.
View the full list of ORRA Partners.